Castre Tux Domokun

BBlogs vs. DDoS [English version]

This post is being digged / Este mensaje está siendo digueado

Esto es una explicación en inglés sobre el tema tratado en este post para la comunidad internacional
This is an English explanation of this (Spanish) for the international visitors.

My English isn’t perfect so please, post all my mistakes :P

Summary:

Genbeta (actually down) is a spanish commercial blog (owned by Weblogs SL). They plublished a post in November about the phishing webs that steal you e-mail and Windows Live Messenger password with the lye of telling you who is blocking you in this contact list. They received a threatening e-mail some days ago warning them of an attack if the post wasn’t deleted. They thought that it wasn’t serious, but last Sunday the DDoS attack started and today (Tuesday) it hasn’t finished and the website has been down all the day so Weblogs SL has posted a message about the issue on its corporate blog and dozens of blogs have reproduced the post (acting as mirrors) supporting Genbeta (with a Creative Commons SA-NC license). A list of some of those blogs is in the Spanish post (if you publish this in your post, tell me and I’ll add you to the list). We are asking for copying this post to all bloggers who can publish in their blogs for safeguard the freedom of speech and prevent the phishers to meet their goal.

Weblogs SL post: DDOS attack to Genbeta

Since the last February 3rd (Sunday) we are suffering a DDOS attack against Genbeta. You have noticed that Genbeta is being slower with some continued downtime periods (like now).

Last year in November we published in Genbeta a post about the services for know who has blocked you at MSN Messenger that steal users and passwords using them dubiously. Last week it got a good position on Google and we received some threats asking for deleting it or we would get a DDOS attack.

The threat was real. We have been under attack since last Sunday. We are working with NTT (their ISP) to fix it as soon as possible, but, meanwhile, we apologize to the Genbeta’s readers for the access problems.

E-mail threating Genbeta’s admins (also offline)

I warn you that if you don’t delete this post [post’s url] your web will suffer a massive denial of service from a chinese datacenter and you won’t be able to stop it, it’ll be so strong and it may affect to other dedicated servers on your ISP’s network.

(…) The reason is simple, people like you “·%$%&$, you speak without knowledg, or you have audited any server and you may evidence the phishing of those webs? So, why are you speaking of that?

(…) Until you delete it, Genbeta.com won’t work.

East’s city and the chinese group will do it. (WTF means that??¿?¿?¿?)

The post on Genbeta (offline, google’s cache)

¿Do you want to know who has blocked/deleted you on MSN Messenger? Don’t give your password to unknow people
By Victor Pimentel on genbeta.com

I can’t believe that, after all this time (years!) since the begining of this fraud, there are still people who fall with it. It’s very simple, and I’m sure that a lot of you know it. There are webs who offers a service who “tells you who has blocked or deleted you in his contact list” if you give them your user and password. I thought that this business was dead. But today two of my contacts has connected advertising one of this websites whit their nickname.

As a general rule, give your e-mail password to someone out of your family is a technological suicide, it’s like give your credit card number to a stranger for tell you how much money do you have. ¿Do you want to know what they do? Most of those webs, after show this information, connect with your account several times a day disturbing all your contacts with spam. Your account may work very bad and you can even loose your account. So you know, don’t give your password to any web!

But… you wanna know who has blocked you!… Those dangerous sites, DON’T WORK. Microsoft changed some time ago their protocol to prevent the spread of this information. Before that it was possible, but now it’s impossible know it, and is impossible know the status of an account without its invitation/admission ot without its password (without changing the account configuration). Without searching so much, some of this potential phishing sites are: blockoo.com, scanmessenger.com, detectando.com, quienteadmite.info, checkmessenger.net, blockstatus, etc… and none of them works (they only collects e-mail address).

I’m sorry if you are an advanced reader who know that this is a fraud, but I had to connect to the messenger today and I’ve seen that this hasn’t changed.

This post is licensed with Creative Commons BY-NC 2.1 (ES) except the attacker e-mail (I don’t know what license it has because the website is down).

Comments

2 comentarios a “BBlogs vs. DDoS [English version]”

  1. Nos atacan(En Español e Ingles) « El efecto Dominó el 8 de Febrero de 2008 a las 08:35

    […] Versión en Ingles por mla.com.es: […]

  2. Humor el 9 de Febrero de 2008 a las 07:53

    Voy a diguearlo

Deja un comentario




Todos contra el canon